Love By Chance Release In August

I am so excited for this! YAY!! After many twists and turns and announcements, it seems that finally Love By Chance will be released on August 3. I am a bit skeptical about this because the team announced release date several times and postponed it as many times. I am just hoping that August will be the lucky month.

So, like other Thai BL series so far, Love By Chance is also adapted from a novel. According to the plot summary on Gcinee, this story mainly revolves around Pete and Ae. Pete (played by charming and cute Saint) is a tall, fair and handsome guy, who is gay. Although many girls fawn over Pete, he is bullied a lot. Once when some bullies are harassing Pete, Ae (played by handsome Perth Tanapon) appears and helps him. It so happens, that then on Ae accidently becomes Pete’s so-called bodyguard. Pete finds himself falling in love with Ae but he doesn’t reveal his feelings as he knows that Ae is not gay.

So, for full disclosure, I have not read the novel as I am unable to find a translated version of it. So, this plot summary leaves me with many questions. It is not clear whether Pete is out and proud already or if Ae is straight or bi or something like that. I also believe that this series has at least one more confirmed BL couple, but we don’t get to know them through the plot. The trailer gives us a glimpse of this couple along with few other charachters but it’s still very much blurred. Finally, I could completely be wrong about the second couple and one of the guys could just be an ex-lover for Pete or something like that. They might actually not have a completely different storyline.

On one hand I am very excited about getting to watch another BL series soon, but I am not sure about this series. First of all they keep changing the release date, which is just irritating. Secondly, after watching the trailer several times, I am getting a What The Duck sort of vibe. Now I did watch WTD season 1 completely, but let’s just say, it is not my favorite. Don’t hate me for this, and I will share my reasons in another post. That is not to say that I won’t give season 2 a try, but if it bores me after couple of episodes, I might just stop. I am hoping Love By Chance gives us better drama and romance. No matter what, I am looking forward to it. Fingers Crossed!

Leave a comment